Itchy Skin, Heat Intolerance, and Weight Falling Off

The story of my diagnosis

Jenn Leach
4 min readOct 13, 2021
Photo by Bermix Studio on Unsplash

All these symptoms started hitting me. It didn’t connect that it was all related.

I was in my twenties. I was a full-time college student working a full-time job. My life was busy.

Six weeks after the onset of my symptoms, it started to become more noticeable to me and I made a doctor’s appointment. I only had one complaint then and that was the feeling of going to pass out. I never had fainted but I felt close to it many times.

I remember fighting on the phone with the appointment setter who didn’t want to see me for feeling like I was going to pass out. I begged her and she allowed me to make an appointment.

When I saw the doctor and he retook my vitals a second and third time, I knew something was really wrong..

How it started

These were the symptoms I started having six weeks prior:

  • Itchy skin
  • Heat intolerance
  • Voracious appetite
  • Weight loss
  • Rapid heartbeat
  • Bulging eyes

The itchy skin was a nightmare. I had huge rashes all over my arms from scratching. My skin was scaly.

--

--